2015 Blavatnik Regional Awards Gala and Reception

On Monday November 9th, the New York Academy of Sciences and the Blavatnik Family Foundation honored the three winners and six finalists of the 2015 Blavatnik Regional Awards for Young Scientists during the Academy’s 12th Annual Gala.

The 2015 Blavatnik Regional Awards received 130 outstanding nominations from 24 academic and research institutions in the New York tri-state area. Winners and finalists were selected by a distinguished jury of senior scientists and engineers.  To see the full list of the 2015 Blavatnik Regional Awards winners and finalists, please click here.

During the ceremony, Blavatnik Regional honorees awarded in the Chemistry category were introduced by Mr. Pablo Legorreta, Founder and CEO of Royalty Pharma; Dr. Paul Walker, Co-Head of the Technology Division in Goldman Sachs introduced the winners and finalists in the Physical Sciences & Engineering category; and Dr. Nancy Cantor, Chancellor of Rutgers University in Newark  introduced honorees in the Life Sciences category.  All were presented with their medals by Peter Thoren from the Blavatnik Family Foundation and each of the three winners gave a brief presentation about their award-winning work.

The evening before the Gala, on November 8th, the Blavatnik Family Foundation hosted a cocktail reception in honor of this year’s regional winners and finalists and regional judges.  The event was attended by the Blavatnik Awards alumni, member of the Blavatnik Awards Regional jury, and supporters of the Awards.

  • 2015 Blavatnik Regional winners and finalists
  • 2015 Blavatnik Regional Winner Nicolás Young and Alejandra Borunda
  • Blavatnik judges Dixie Goss and Pamela Stanley
  • John Haggerty; Berndt Mueller; David Morrison; William Zajc; and Blavatnik honoree Szabolcs Márka
  • 2015 Blavatnik Regional Finalist Ziv Shulman with wife Sivan Ben Avraham Shulman
  • 2015 Blavatnik Regional Finalist Allyson Friedman and Peter Thoren
  • 2015 Blavatnik Regional Winner Arash Nikoubashman
  • Paul Walker and Peter Thoren with 2015 Blavatnik Regional honorees Yang Liu, Dennis Perepelitsa, and Nicolás Young
  • 2015 Blavatnik Regional honorees Yang Liu, Jinzhong Lin, and Xiang Gao