US National Awards


The Blavatnik National Awards honor America’s most innovative young faculty-rank scientists and engineers.

These awards celebrate the past accomplishments and future potential of young faculty members working in the three disciplinary categories of Life Sciences, Physical Sciences & Engineering, and Chemistry.

Every year, one Blavatnik National Awards Laureate in each disciplinary category will receive $250,000 in unrestricted funds, and additional nominees will be recognized as Finalists.

“Our goal is to recognize and celebrate exceptional young scientists—to make them examples of what the next generation of young scientists should strive to achieve. The Blavatnik Family Foundation is providing critical support to seed innovative work in science and technology that will address society's most pressing global problems.”

Len Blavatnik, Founder and Chairman of Access Industries and head of the Blavatnik Family Foundation

Nominations are accepted from an invited group of research universities, independent research institutions, academic medical centers, and government laboratories from around the United States, as well as from the Awards’ own Scientific Advisory Council, composed of renowned science and technology leaders. Past Laureates of the Blavatnik National Awards are also invited to submit nominations. The program expands on an awards program, started in 2007, for young scientists in New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut.

Members of the Jury responsible for selecting the Blavatnik National Awards honorees are some of the nation’s most distinguished scientists. Both the Blavatnik National Awards Scientific Advisory Council and Jury include Nobel Laureates, National Medal of Science recipients, and National Academy of Sciences members.

The Blavatnik National Awards are conferred at a formal ceremony in New York City each fall.