Regional Guidelines

Nominations for the 2015 Blavatnik Awards Regional Postdoctoral Competition open on December 2, 2014.

2015 Regional Postdoctoral competition

The regional postdoctoral competition of the Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists recognizes the most promising postdoctoral-rank scientists and engineers from New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut working in disciplines within the life sciences, physical sciences, mathematics, and engineering.

Three winners will each receive $30,000 in unrestricted funds, and six finalists will each receive $10,000 in unrestricted funds.

The regional postdoctoral awards will be conferred at a ceremony held in autumn 2015 in New York City.


All nominations for the regional postdoctoral competition must be submitted by the institution’s President, Provost, or the President’s official designee. Each institution may nominate up to fifteen candidates for the 2015 awards cycle.


To be eligible, a candidate must:

Candidates may be nominated up to two times for the regional postdoctoral competition. Past postdoctoral winners are not eligible for nomination.

The Blavatnik Awards for Young Scientists welcomes nominations of candidates from underrepresented groups in science and engineering.


evaluation criteria

The candidate and his/her work will be evaluated according to the following criteria:

Additional information


Distinguished experts from a broad range of scientific and engineering disciplines serve on the Judging Panel and will evaluate nominations based on the criteria described. 


For general questions related to the competition or specific questions about nomination/eligibility requirements, please first consult the Frequently Asked Questions page.

If your questions remain unanswered, please contact us.