National Awards

The Blavatnik National Awards honor America’s most innovative young faculty-rank scientists and engineers.

This new national faculty competition of the Blavatnik Awards will reward excellence by young faculty members in three disciplinary categories. Every year, one nominee in each category will be named a Blavatnik Laureate and awarded $250,000 in unrestricted funds:

“Our goal is to recognize and celebrate exceptional young scientists—to make them examples of what the next generation of young scientists should strive to achieve. The Blavatnik Family Foundation is providing critical support to seed innovative work in science and technology that will address society's most pressing global problems.”

Len Blavatnik, Founder and Chairman of Access Industries and head of the Blavatnik Family Foundation

Nominations are accepted from a pre-selected group of research universities, independent research institutions, academic medical centers, and government laboratories from around the United States, as well as from the Awards’ own Scientific Advisory Council, composed of renowned science and technology leaders. The program expands on a competition, started in 2007, for faculty-rank scientists in New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut.

Members of the Judging Panel, who will evaluate the nominations and select the Blavatnik Laureates, are some of the nation’s most distinguished scientists. The members of Blavatnik Awards Scientific Advisory Council and the Judging Panel include 27 National Academy of Sciences members, 11 National Medal of Science recipients, 7 Nobel Laureates, and 6 past winners of the Blavatnik Award for Young Scientists regional competition.

The awards will be conferred during a formal ceremony on September 15, 2014 in New York City.